Seat Tarraco Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Once non-essential travel restrictions are lifted, I will be hanging two electric bikes, with combined weight of 45kgs, off the back of my Tarraco. Has any body done this yet and if so, can you offer experience of the effect the additional weight may have on the handling of the car?

Attachments

·
Registered
202 Posts
I hook a 1600kg tintent onto the back of mine and it does not affect handling. A towball fitted to a Taracco will take 80kg noseweight, so you should be okay with that weight. But I'm not an expert.

Looking at the position of your frame I think that obscuring your rear lights and number plate might be a bit of a problem if you dont have a trailer board.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hopefully there will be enough room between the bikes and my caravan, which also will be hung off the back of the car as well!

·
Registered
445 Posts
45kg on a tailgate carrier is not something I would want to do, especially the one in your pic. At least find one that will have bottom support that rests on the bumper to take the weight. Cantilevered 45kg+ the weight of the rack is going to put a lot of force on the touch points, especially over bumps.

I have this rack (9106) and it clamps onto the tailgate and pulls tight, no straps. Rock soild and the weight handling is only 30kg max load, so I can't see how you expect to get 45kg onto your one.

https://www.thule.com/en-gb/buyers-guide?c=bike+carriers&q=HFPuPggrE

·
Registered
320 Posts
I'm a fan on the racks that sit on the tow bar.
But if your towing a caravan as well this is not an option

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·